2021 Nominees

“Like the screen artists who’ve shared their work with our jury of national and international screen professionals, the WASCAs goes to highlight the convergence of forms and build bridges between them. It’s an honour for us, our partners and our jury to participate in this platform that acknowledges and rewards achievement and innovation in the local screen industry, and we’re very proud to be associated in some small way with the creative lives of each and every one of them.”
– Revelation Film Festival Director Richard Sowada.

Find out the 2021 winners!

The 2021 WASCAs were held on Sunday 5 December at Luna Cinemas Leederville and winners were awarded from the following outstanding nominees across 20 categories:

Innovation in Narrative Feature Film with a budget under $1m
Edward and Isabella
Good For Nothing Blues

Innovation in Feature Documentary/Non-Fiction
Girl Like You
Jaimen Hudson From Sky to Sea
The Truth About Anxiety
Under the Volcano

Innovation in Short Film or Animation presented by AFTRS
In Australia
These Walls
Two Sands

Innovation in Student Film
Painting By Numbers

Innovation in Music Video presented by Johnny Ma Studios
Break Loose
The Wild Geese

Innovation in Game Design
Dementia Training Australia
Tactical Response

Innovation in Commercial Content
Austin XR
Dementia Training Australia
Kaboodle Kitchen Visualiser
Karrinyup – WA On Stage
Stop the Coward Punch

Innovation in Virtual Reality, 360° or Augmented Reality
Dementia Training Australia
Reflections of Iwanoff
Virtual Whadjuk

Innovation in Moving Image and Installation Art
Leaving LA Exhibition
The Separation

Innovation in Web Series or Online Content
Hug the Sun
Iggy and Ace
In Their Footprints
Real Life Outback Adventures

Outstanding Achievement in Directing
Abiogenesis; David Vincent Smith
In Australia; Miley Tunnecliffe
Sparkles; Jacqueline Pelczar
Stop The Coward Punch; Martin Wilson
Structural; Renée Webster
Tooly; Karla Hart
Two Sands; Poppy van Oorde-Grainger

Outstanding Achievement in Cinematography or Visualisation
Abiogenesis; David Vincent Smith, Lewis Potts
In Australia; Jim Frater
Jaime Hudson From Sky to Sea; Leighton De Barros
Stop The Coward Punch; Jim Frater
Two Sands; Lewis Potts
Under the Volcano; Hugh Miller

Outstanding Achievement in Original Music
In Australia; Stephen Callan
These Walls
Under The Volcano

Outstanding Achievement in Writing
In Australia; Miley Tunnecliffe
Peanut; Taihra Swaine
Sparkles; Tina Fielding
Tooly; Karla Hart
Two Sands; Poppy van Oorde-Grainger and Kook Manuer

Outstanding Achievement in Performance presented by PAC Screen Workshops
In Australia; Karin Kowi
Peanut; Joanna Tu
Soul Catcher; Jay Jay Jegathesan
Tent Girl; Emily Rose Brennan
Two Sands; Garang John Deng

Outstanding Achievement in Production Design (incl. costume, set design, hair and makeup etc)
Evie; Kate Separovich
Fading Numbers
Hold Up; Nina Gee
Two Sands; Emma Vickery

Outstanding Achievement in Editing
In Australia; Caitlan O’Connor
Painting By Numbers; Radheya Jegatheva
Sparkles; Elaine Smith
Two Sands; Dominic Pearce

Outstanding Achievement in Sound or Sound Design
Girl Like You; Adrian Vinci and Josh Hogan
Murder on the Dancefloor; Brad Habib and Shaun Sandosham
Painting By Numbers; Steeve Body
Sparkles; Nicholas Gallagher
Two Sands; Nick McKenzie and Josh Hogan and Ned Beckley

Also presented will be two Special Industry Awards for Contribution to the Industry presented by Komixx Entertainment, and the Independent Spirit Award.
The awards night includes pre-event drinks for nominees and supporters, the official awards presentation, followed by a post-event celebration into the night at Luna Cinemas Leederville. Tickets are $50 and are available online at www.wascreencultureawards.com.au.
The WASCAs are proudly presented and produced by the Revelation Perth International Film Festival in collaboration with the WA screen industry.